The Only Exception (Love in the Comptons 2) By Claire Huston (Review)

Today dear readers I am reviewing The Only Exception (Published 7th June 2022) By Claire Huston. A big thank-you to the author for sending me a copy to review, always appreciated. I have had the honour of also reading and reviewing the first book in the series, Art and Soul. Click here to check out that review, enjoy.    

The Only Exception

41eV+u5OxuL

Lucinda Green knows something is missing from her life. But what? Her catering business is enjoying modest success and she loves her cosy house, even if she does have to share it with her irritating ex-fiancé.

Whatever’s making her unsettled and edgy, Lucinda’s certain that a lack of romance isn’t the problem. How could it be when she doesn’t believe in true love?

But Lucinda’s beliefs are shaken by a series of electric encounters with Alex Fraser, a newly notorious actor who gradually proves himself to be infuriatingly funny and smart, as well as handsome.

Not that any of that matters. Because Lucinda doesn’t believe in all that ‘The One’ nonsense. That’s the rule.

But doesn’t every rule have an exception?

This uplifting grumpy-meets-sunshine romance is perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Katie Fforde and Trisha Ashley.

About the Author

Claire Huston lives in Warwickshire, UK, with her husband and two children. She writes uplifting modern love stories about characters who are meant for each other but need a little help to realise it.

A keen amateur baker, she enjoys making cakes, biscuits and brownies almost as much as eating them. You can find recipes for all the cakes mentioned in Art and Soul, her first novel, at clairehuston.co.uk along with over 150 other recipes. This is also where she talks about and reviews books.

 

My Review

The narrative follows both of the main love interests, Lucinda and Alex who find themselves in numerous situations worthy of a rom-com flick. Huston instantly places the reader in a gripping, intense situation. Lucinda owns a catering business and is on a trip to the London offices of the Richards Group in the hopes of renewing a contract. She is in a lift and trips but a Mr. Handsome who turns out to be Alex, catches her. But there’s no time for Lucinda to catch her breath as an old woman starts having a heart attack. Alex freezes unsure of what to do while Lucinda springs into action and helps her. Once the old woman is safely in an ambulance both Lucinda and Alex part their separate ways. They both felt a connection, a spark, but are both trapped in complicated situations. 

Lucinda is living with her ex-fiancé, Chris, and has no time for love. She doesn’t want to get involved with another hopeless guy who will drain her time and energy. Lucinda finds it difficult to believe in love, the one, because she has grown up believing that it doesn’t exist. Her mother drummed it into her ever since she can remember that love was a load of rubbish, a way for card manufacturers, florists, anyone to make money.  But with Alex she felt something, something that might make him the only exception.

Alex lives with his girlfriend Nicole who spends most of her time attached to her phone, addressing her thousands of followers on instagram. He doesn’t see the relationship going anywhere but has yet to find the moment to break things off. Alex works as an actor and enjoys learning and preparing for a role, especially if it gives him a reason to pick up a new skill. But since he met Lucinda he feels distracted and can’t stop thinking about her. He has been hurt in love before and has since settled for convenience rather than passion. He doubts that Lucinda feels anything for him as whenever they meet she shows a strong disdain towards him. But is that all a front and is there a reason why she is so standoffish with him?

Both characters are perfect for each other but they are just too darn stubborn to admit it. They are both convinced that the other dislikes them. However it is more than obvious that they are attracted but they struggle to find the words to express how they feel and keep missing the chance to finally open up. You will find yourself screaming at the page for these two to just kiss already and get a room. They are both broken, lost souls who have found one another and learning that maybe they deserve a second chance at love.

I give The Only Exception By Claire Huston a Four out of Five paw rating.

010721-black-ink-grunge-stamp-texture-icon-animals-animal-dog-print 010721-black-ink-grunge-stamp-texture-icon-animals-animal-dog-print 010721-black-ink-grunge-stamp-texture-icon-animals-animal-dog-print 010721-black-ink-grunge-stamp-texture-icon-animals-animal-dog-print

Brilliant, funny and beautifully heart warming this book will melt the coldest of hearts to believe in love, the only exception.

I loved that this book is a part of the Love in the Comptons series but can be read as a standalone. They feature familiar settings and characters that intertwine with the story. Huston always surrounds her characters in gorgeous locations that gives the reader all the feels of a romantic movie. It radiates a warm, cosy, comforting atmosphere that absorbs you from beginning to end.

Links


Website
www.clairehuston.co.uk

instagram-Logo-PNG-Transparent-Background-download@clairehuston_author

925898b903a4d9182622fda48f870f66_welcome-to-our-room-with-a-twitter-logo-clipart-png_1139-926@ClaraVal

Facebook-Logo-Transparentclairehustonauthor

Buy a copy 41eV+u5OxuL

Hop hop wiggle wiggle

Advertisement

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet/Reviewer/Bookworm/Gamer/Music Lover/Wife and Mother! I review and recommend books as I LOVE to read! I am always on the lookout for new and upcoming books to expand my ever-growing library. If you have something you wish me to read and review, please contact me. I would be delighted to hear from you. Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in writer. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Only Exception (Love in the Comptons 2) By Claire Huston (Review)

  1. Thank you so much! I’m delighted you enjoyed it 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s