The Day We Met By Roxie Cooper Review (Random Things Tours )

IMG_3482

Love. Such a small, delicate word that can cause so much warmth and coldness within the same breath. Why is it that the most romantic of tales often end in tragedy? The doomed lovers, a love so pure and innocent that it didn’t have a chance to thrive and flourish into an alluring blossom. Their curse is to remain buried in the ground, hidden from the world. Never rising above the surface and always out of reach from fulfilling their full potential. Fate is a cruel, wicked creature.

Today dear readers is my spot on the blog tour for The Day We Met By Roxie Cooper. A big thank you to Penguin for sending me a copy to review and also to Anne for inviting me to take part in the tour. Always a pleasure to work with you.

51240443_1999729656998676_330531710913478656_n_Fotor.jpg

About The Author

71t+KaneD4L._UX250_

Roxie Cooper lives in Yarm, a pretty little market town in the North-East. After reading Classics at Newcastle University, she realised she needed a break from studying Latin, Ancient Greek and all that serious stuff, so naturally, she became a dancer in a nightclub (à la Coyote Ugly) for a few years before going to live in Australia. When she returned, she swapped dancing on a bar, to practising at the Bar, and became a barrister for 7 years. Twitter/Instagram @toodletinkbaby.

 

The Day We Met

81HcCcBo-RL.jpg

Stephanie and Jamie are meant to be. The problem is they’re both with other people…

Stephanie doesn’t believe in fate, true love or living happily ever after. She’s content enough being engaged to Matt. But then she meets Jamie, who understands her more than anyone else ever has.

Jamie is happily married to his childhood sweetheart Helen and believes in everything Stephanie doesn’t. So why does he have such a strong connection with Stephanie?

When Stephanie and Jamie meet one fateful weekend in 2006 it will change everything…

Ten years. Two people. One epic love story.

The Day We Met is an immensely moving and heart-warming epic love story perfect for fans of Josie Silver’s One Day in December and Zoë Folbigg’s The Note.

My Review

Wow just wow. I am literally in pieces. What can I say? I don’t think words are enough to describe how truly heartbreakingly brilliant this book is. I have to actually purchase more lip balm for the amount of lip biting I was doing while reading this. I just couldn’t get enough of Stephanie and Jamie’s love. I was drunk on their happiness and I immersed myself in the little bubble they had created within the pages. It was one hell of a ride that well and truly tortured my emotions. The included tissues were much appreciated as I used them to mop up my mess of a face. Make a note dear reader to wear waterproof mascara when reading. This book should definitely be sold with a box of tissues and a warning that it will break you mentally and physically. 

The narrative is told from both Stephanie and Jamie’s point of view. I enjoyed how with each chapter we get a further insight to how these lovers truly feel about each other and it’s simply beautiful to read. To witness the love, the confusion and conflict dancing around in their heads. I could feel the electrifying chemistry sparking off the page. Cooper writes them perfectly, they just fit so well whilst still having their little differences. Jamie is a big believer in fate, whereas Stephanie isn’t however she strongly believes you should fight for your dreams and indulge in your passions. In comparison Jamie is safe and opts out of taking risks. They compliment each other well and you soon see why they should be together. 

I so desperately wanted them to kiss whenever they were in a room together. I was screaming at the page for them to do it even though I knew it was wrong. I am a bit of a soppy romantic that loves secretly watching rom-coms and crying into a tub of Ben and Jerry’s. A believer in true love and that it conquers all. So I was surprised to find myself rooting for them to be together when they are already taken. To cheat, have a physical and emotional affair. I was hypnotised by the way Cooper writes about their love, the strong connection and desire to be in each others lives. I shocked myself by finding it plausible and justified that they were secretly meeting once a year. I couldn’t wait for their encounters, I flew through the pages to be entrapped in them. It was exciting, passionate and addictive to read.

I love how this book came with its own soundtrack, a Spotify playlist printed at the front. It helps set the mood and exhibits to the reader just how crazy in love Stephanie and Jamie are. Music has that charming way of showing emotions and expressing ourselves when words fail us. I found myself singing loudly, and out of tune might I add, along with the characters. It gave it that extra finishing touch to an already exquisite chocolate cake. Delicious.

51223919_2033131156979650_2979623339577835520_n.jpg

I can’t help but give The Day We Met By Roxie Cooper a Five out of Five paw rating.

010721-black-ink-grunge-stamp-texture-icon-animals-animal-dog-print 010721-black-ink-grunge-stamp-texture-icon-animals-animal-dog-print 010721-black-ink-grunge-stamp-texture-icon-animals-animal-dog-print 010721-black-ink-grunge-stamp-texture-icon-animals-animal-dog-print 010721-black-ink-grunge-stamp-texture-icon-animals-animal-dog-print

Cooper should be extremely proud of herself for writing a love story that will be told for many a year to come. A love that will stand the test of time and show readers that it is always worth waiting to find someone who loves you for who you are, encourages your dreams and passions and never gives up hope that if you are meant to be together, the universe will always, always find a way.

I can’t stress enough how much I fell in love with this book. The characters, the story, everything! It is one I will most definitely reread time and time again. It has stolen my heart and I can’t bear the thought of someone not knowing Stephanie and Jamie’s story. Everyone should experience it. Just make sure to buy a bulk box of Kleenex when you do. Trust me, you are going to need it. Prepare to feel all the feels. 

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the blog tour! Dates below. Enjoy!

51564357_2290774327824267_6305193826558410752_n.jpg

 

Links

Buy a copy on Amazon

81HcCcBo-RL

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Day-We-Met-perfect-Valentines/dp/1529102464

 

925898b903a4d9182622fda48f870f66_welcome-to-our-room-with-a-twitter-logo-clipart-png_1139-926 @toodletinkbaby

instagram-Logo-PNG-Transparent-Background-download@toodletinkbaby

ferarri-clipart-penguin-604261-5013366.pnghttps://www.penguin.co.uk

 

hop hop wiggle wiggle

About Bunny's Pause

Hello, I'm a Author/Poet/Reviewer/Bookworm/Gamer/Music Lover/Wife and Mother! I review and recommend books as I LOVE to read! I am always on the lookout for new and upcoming books to expand my ever-growing library. If you have something you wish me to read and review, please contact me. I would be delighted to hear from you. Hop hop wiggle wiggle
This entry was posted in art, arts, be who you are, be yourself, being a writer, Bibliophile, blog, Blog Tour, blogger, book, Book Blog, Book Blogger, Book Club, Book Haul, Book Review, Book Reviewer, Booklover, books, Books are my thing, Bookworm, Bookworms, chat, creative writing, discovery, dreams, Family, fear, Fiction, follow me, fun, happy, Health, Honest Blog Post, Honest Book Review, learning, Let's Talk About Books!, life, Lifestyle, loss, Love, mistakes, music, my life, my world, natter, opinion, Penguin, people, playlist, positive, Random Things Tour, random things tours, The Day We Met By Roxie Cooper, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Day We Met By Roxie Cooper Review (Random Things Tours )

  1. annecater says:

    Delighted that you loved this Emma. Thanks for the amazing Blog Tour support x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s